Scene Setters

Wale Shonibare

Director, Energy Financial Solutions, Policy & Regulations

Power, Energy, Climate & Green Growth Complex

African Development Bank

Dr Rod Crompton

Director: Energy Leadership Centre

Wits Business School, South Africa

Dr Angela Wilkinson

Secretary General

World Energy Council

Andy Calitz

Secretary General Elect

International Gas Union

Dr Rebecca Maserumule

Chief Director: Hydrogen and Energy

National Department of Science and Innovation (DSI)

Aaron Leopold

Chief Executive Officer

Africa Minigrid Developers Association (AMDA)

Lamé Verre


Alaric & Associates

Dr Christoph Frei


Emerald Technology Ventures

Jean-Pierre Barral

Directeur du département

Transitions énergétique et numérique

Stanley Semelane

Senior Researcher: Climate Services



Sean Cleary


Strategic Concepts (Pty) Ltd

Rentia van Tonder

Head: Power, Client Coverage, Corporate and Investment Banking

Standard Bank

Dr. Kandeh K. Yumkella

Member of Parliament (Sierra Leone) & Founder – TENN

John Rocha

Chief Director: Trade Invest Africa

Department of Trade and Industry of the Republic of South Africa

Kannan Lakmeeharan


McKinsey & Company

Dave Wright

Board Member


Dr Clinton Carter-Brown

Energy Centre Manager

South African Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

John Smelcer

Business Development Director


Kiren Maharaj

Managing Director

Gibb Power

Jonathan Berman

Managing Director

Autonomi Capital

Prashaen Reddy

Director: SANEA

Senior Energy Principal: Kearney

Anja Casper-Berretta

Head of Regional Programme Energy Security and Climate Change in Sub-Saharan Africa

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS)

Coenraad Bezuidenhout


Maverick Shared Value


Johannes Tuwilika

Sales Manager Africa

Studer Innotec

Dr. Elham M. A. Ibrahim

World Energy Council Vice Chair For Africa,

 Former Commissioner For Infrastructure & Energy, AUC

Prof Abubakar Sani Sambo


Nigerian Member Committee of the World Energy Council (WEC)

André de Ruyter

Group Chief Executive


Mohan Vivekanandan

Group Executive: Origination & Coverage

Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)

Stefano Marani

Chief Executive Officer


Hon. Kornelia Shilunga

Deputy Minister

Ministry of Mines and Energy, Namibia

Kudakwashe Ndhlukula

Executive Director

SADC Centre for Renewable Energy & Energy Efficiency (SACREEE)

Dr Carsten Rolle

Executive Director

World Energy Council – Germany

Director Carla Montesi 


European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA – formerly DG DEVCO)

Eng Ziria Waako

Chief Executive Officer

Electricity Regulatory Authority, Uganda

David Thompson

Deputy Coordinator

Power Africa

Dr Jarrad Wright

Principal Engineer

CSIR Energy Centre

Colin FitzRandolph

Director, Energy Infrastructure


Oratile Sematle

Head:  Digital Program


Mark Ossel

Member of the Board

OSGP Alliance

Lucy Chege

Head – Energy, Environment & ICT

Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)

Dr. Daniel Schroth

Acting Director for Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency and the Advisor to the Vice President for Power, Energy, Climate and Green Growth

African Development Bank

Lebohang Mosetu

Senior Underwriter

Export Credit Insurance Corporation (ECIC)

Steven Gray

Country Manager – West Africa

UK Export Finance

Eghosa Mabhena 

Chief Executive Officer:  Africa Middle East, Asia Pacific, Global Aviation and Global Lubricants

Puma Energy

Nico Peterschmidt

Co-founder & Managing Director


Duncan Bonnett

Director Strategy & Business Development

Africa House

Thabo Molekoa

Managing Director

Siemens Energy Southern & Eastern Africa

Mashale Phumaphi

Chief Executive Officer

Shumba Energy

Niall Kramer

Member of the Board


Olusola Lawson

Co-Managing Director


Jack CQ Fletcher

Executive Director

Hydrogen Energy Applications

John Tkacik

Director of Analytics and Technology


Humphrey Wireko

Associate Principal

CrossBoundary Energy Access (CBEA)

Dr Louis van Pletsen


InAfrica Holdings

Darryl Hunt

Managing Director

Dynamic Energy Consultants

Hasnayn Ebrahim

Managing Director

Africa International Advisors

Lizelle van der Merwe

Decentralised Energy Venture Lead, CIB Digital

Standard Bank

Dr Mkhulu Mathe

Programme Manager: Smart Places Cluster:  Energy Centre


Edington Mazambani 

Chief Executive Officer

Zimbabwe Energy Regulatory Authority (ZERA)

Seydou Kane

Managing Director:  Africa

Eaton’s Electrical Sector

Geoff Sinclair

Managing Director

Camco Clean Energy

Dr Muzi Dlamini

Deputy Chairman

Energy Intensive Users Group of Southern Africa

Camilla Toulmin

Senior Fellow for Sustainable Energy

Africa Europe Foundation

Jonas Moberg

Head of Government Affairs

Trafigura Group

Amar Inamdar

Managing Director

KawiSafi Ventures

Ignacio Perez-Arriaga

Professor of Engineering, Economics and Regulation of the Electric Power Sector

Anton Eberhard

Professor Emeritus and Senior Scholar

University of Cape Town

Mansoor Hamayun

Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer


Ryan Collyer

Chief Executive Officer

Rosatom Central and Southern Africa